The World in the Satin Bag has moved to my new website.  If you want to see what I'm up to, head on over there!

Thursday, May 06, 2010

Haul of Books 2010: Stuff For Me v.5

Time for yet another edition of the Haul of Books, featuring stuff I bought for myself, because I like myself and feel like doing nice things for me. This is also part two of the books I picked up at the University of Florida's book sale thing, the first half of which can be found here. There's definitely some interesting stuff in this pile.

Here goes (more after the "read more," assuming Blogger decides to work correctly):
Now that you've seen that beautiful picture, which isn't fuzzy in the slightest, I'll tell you what they're all about, from left to right, top to bottom:

1. The Revenge of the Shadow King by Derek Benz and J.S. Lewis
Max Sumner and his three best friends, Harley, Ernie, and Natalia--who form the secret club The Grey Griffins--seem to be the only people in their very normal Minnesota town to notice that strange things have started to happen. When creatures like goblins and fairies and unicorns, all characters from a card game the Grey Griffins play, begin to make appearances in Max's backyard, Max and his friends know something is terribly wrong. And it's up to them to stop the wicked creatures of the cards from destroying their town-indeed, their world.
2. Alien Encounters: The Secrete Behind the UFO Phenomenon by Chuck Missler and Mark Eastman
Alien Encounters is the result of years of research into the history of UFO sightings, reports of alien abductions, and the struggle between Good and Evil. It confronts the issues head-on and offers answers to many of the most pertinent questions confronting mankind.

Questions such as:
--Are UFOs real?
--Are aliens real?
--Are they hostile or friendly?
--Why do reports of alien abduction always seem to include experiments being performed on the human reproductive system?
--Are angels involved?
--Why about demons?
--Is there a cosmic destiny for planet Earth unfolding before our very eyes?

The answers to these questions and their implications are even more shocking than the events themselves. Behind the hype, the hoaxes, and the government disinformation lies a reality so astonishing that the original publisher was too shocked to follow through with this book.

However, the reality remains: your personal destiny and that of your family may depend upon how you deal with the strange events that may soon take place.

Are you prepared for an encounter? If these things are real, it will lead to the biggest challenge ever faced by mankind. There is increasing evidence that what lies behind these strange events will shortly affect every living person on this planet.
3. Cirque Du Freak: A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan
In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.
4. Dreams Made Flesh by Anne Bishop
The national bestselling Black Jewels trilogy established award-winning Anne Bishop as an author whose "sublime skill...blends the darkly macabre with spine-tingling emotional intensity, mesmerizing magic, lush sensuality, and exciting action."* Now the saga continues-with four all-new adventures of Jaenelle and her kindred.
5. Hatching Magic by Ann Downer
You never know when magic will hatch....

Poor Theodora Oglethorpe! Her biologist father has gone off to explore the jungles of Laos without her, her best friends are away on vacation, and a long, hot, lonely Boston summer is all she has to look forward to.

Poor Gideon! Wycca, his pet wyvern, has disappeared through a magic hole in time in search of a place to lay her egg. Kobold, Gideon's wizard rival, wants nothing more than to get his hands on Wycca. In a desperate attempt to rescue Wycca from Kobold's evil clutches, Gideon follows her through the magic hole?and finds himself transported from thirteenth-century England to the terrifyingly modern world of Boston, Massachusetts, in the twenty-first century.

Soon Theodora's involved with a chocoholic baby wyvern, a mysterious wyvern playing card, a couple of desperate wizards -- and the summer vacation of her life!
6. The Castle in the Attic by Elizabeth Winthrop
William has just received the best present of his life. It's an old, real-looking stone and wooden model of a castle, with a drawbridge, moat, and a finger-high knight to guard the gates. It's the mysterious castle his housekeeper has told him about, and even though William is sad she's leaving, now the castle is his!

William can't wait to play with it--he's certain there's something magical about the castle. And sure enough, when he picks up the tiny silver knight, it comes alive in his hand!

Sir Simon tells William a mighty story of wild sorcery, wizards, and magic. And suddenly William is off on a fantastic quest to another land and another time--where a fiery dragon and an evil wizard are waiting to do battle . . . .
7. Lives of the Monster Dogs by Kirsten Bakis
A postmodern Mary Shelley, taking the parable of Frankenstein's monster several giant steps farther, might have written this fable of a novel about a tragic race of monster dogs--in this case, genetically and biomechanically engineered dogs (of several major breeds). Created by a German mad scientist in the 19th century, the monster dogs possess human intelligence, speak human language, have prosthetic humanlike hands and walk upright on hind legs. The dogs' descendants arrive in New York City in the year 2008, still acting like Victorian-era aristocrats. Most important, the monster dogs suffer humanlike frailties and, ultimately, real suffering more serious and affecting than the subject matter might at first glance suggest.
8. Orion Shall Rise by Poul Anderson
Years after Earth is devastated by nuclear weapons, the survivors of a floating solar station above Europe assist the emergence of a low-tech civilization, until a treacherous faction seizes control of the station.
And there we go. So, anything sound interesting to you?

Related Posts by Categories

Widget by Hoctro | Jack Book

No comments:

Post a Comment